The best Google Maps rank trackers in 2026, compared with sources
The best Google Maps rank tracker depends on the job. Local Falcon has the largest grids (up to 21×21) and also tracks Apple Maps. Whitespark starts at $10 a month and reports rank depth to 100 positions. BrightLocal and LeadSnap include white-label reports on every plan. Gridrank charges per tracked keyword with weekly scans included. Gridrank wrote this list, so each entry, ours included, says where the tool falls short.
Quick picks by job
| Job | Look at | Why |
|---|---|---|
| One-off audits and prospect scans | Local Falcon, Whitespark | Credits can go on any grid. Local Falcon also sells pay-as-you-go credits at $0.05 that never expire. |
| Agency reporting with your brand | LeadSnap, BrightLocal, Gridrank | White-label on every LeadSnap and BrightLocal plan. Gridrank from $79 with weekly scans included. |
| Grids inside a bigger SEO suite | BrightLocal, Semrush Local, Moz Local | Grid tracking sits next to listings, reviews or keyword tools. |
| A single free check | Gridrank, Whitespark, GMB Everywhere | Gridrank runs a free 5×5 grid. Whitespark and GMB Everywhere check from one location. |
The comparison table
| Tool | Entry price | Pricing model | Largest grid | White-label from | Credits roll over |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Local Falcon | $24.99 a month | Credits, 1 per grid point | 21×21 | $199.99 (Premium only) | Monthly plans expire each month. Annual plans roll over until the year ends |
| BrightLocal | $41 a month per location | Per location, 5 grid keywords included | 15×15 (7×7 included) | $41 (every plan) | No credits |
| Whitespark | $10 a month | Credit packs, 1 per grid point | 15×15 | Offered, plan not published | No. Credits expire each billing period |
| Local Dominator | $39 a month | Credits, 1 per scan point | 13×13 | $97 (Pro and up) | 2 months, on Pro and Powerhouse |
| Local Viking | $39 a month | Per listing, plus keyword and geogrid credits | 13×13 in its docs (maximum not published) | $99 (Pro and up) | Geogrid credits roll over. Keyword credits don't |
| LeadSnap | $59 a month | Locations plus credits, 1 per grid point | 13×13 in its examples | $59 (every plan) | No. Credits reset each billing cycle |
| Semrush Local | $30 a month per location, billed annually | Per location, credits 1 per map pin | Not published | $20 a month report add-on | No. Credits refresh on the 1st |
| Moz Local | $20 a month | 250 grid credits per location a month | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Gridrank | $0 (Free) or $19 a month | Tracked keywords, flat monthly | 9×9 | $79 (Pro and up) | No credits. Weekly scans included |
Prices checked on 18 and 19 October 2026, on each vendor's own page: Local Falcon pricing, BrightLocal pricing, Whitespark Local Ranking Grids, Local Dominator pricing, Local Optics pricing (localviking.com/pricing redirects here), LeadSnap pricing, Semrush Local pricing, Moz Local pricing. Prices change, so check the vendor's page before you buy.
What each tool is best for, and what to watch
Local Falcon
- Best for
- Large grids, from 3×3 up to 21×21 with a radius of 0.1 to 100 miles. Ad hoc scans paid with credits. Tracking Apple Maps and AI visibility next to Google.
- Watch out for
- Credits on monthly plans expire each month. White-label reports come only with Premium at $199.99. Falcon AI reports cost 25 credits each.
BrightLocal
- Best for
- One or a few locations where you also want listings and review tools in the same subscription. White-label reports on every plan, and a 14-day trial.
- Watch out for
- The price rises with each location, from $41 for one to $209 for 31 to 40 on Track. The included grid is 5 keywords at up to 7×7, and add-on prices aren't published.
Whitespark
- Best for
- Light or irregular use, with credit packs from $10 for 2,000 credits. The deepest rank data we found, up to 100 positions. Grids up to 15×15, and a free setup transfer from another tool.
- Watch out for
- Credits expire after each billing period. Heavy weekly tracking costs rise in step with points. The plan that includes white-label links is not stated.
Whitespark Local Ranking Grids · Whitespark Local Rank Tracker
Local Dominator
- Best for
- Circle grids, which use fewer points (a 9×9 circle is 64 credits, a square is 81). Scheduling daily, weekly, bi-weekly or monthly. Seats for a team, from 1 on Lite to 15 on Powerhouse.
- Watch out for
- White-label starts on Pro at $97. Grids stop at 13×13. Its plan table and FAQ give different rollover rules.
Local Viking (Local Optics)
- Best for
- Geogrid credits that roll over. Listing-based plans up to 70 Google Business Profile listings. A GeoGrid widget from Pro.
- Watch out for
- Pricing now lives at Local Optics, and we couldn't confirm who runs it. White-label starts at $99. Its March 2026 pricing page offered no free trial.
Local Optics pricing (localviking.com/pricing redirects here) · Local Optics credits guide
LeadSnap
- Best for
- White-label on every plan from $59, with a custom domain included. Points up to 25 miles apart, scheduled daily to monthly.
- Watch out for
- Credits reset each billing cycle. Plans cap locations at 10, 25 or 50, then add $3 a month per location.
Semrush Local
- Best for
- Teams already paying for Semrush. Up to 100 keywords per Map Rank Tracker campaign, scheduled daily, weekly, monthly or by hand.
- Watch out for
- Local Base gives 375 credits per location a month, about one 7×7 keyword scanned weekly. Branding comes from a $20 a month report add-on in Semrush's reporting product.
Moz Local
- Best for
- Businesses already on Moz Local. Local Grid is listed on the Lite plan from $20 a month, with 250 credits per location.
- Watch out for
- Grid size, scan frequency and white-label are not stated on the pages we read.
Gridrank
- Best for
- Weekly tracking of a fixed keyword list on a flat bill, from $19. White-label reports from $79. On-demand scans on every paid plan, and a free 5×5 check with no sign-up. Failed scans don't count against the allowance.
- Watch out for
- Grids stop at 9×9. Google Maps only, no Apple Maps. Ranks are recorded to the top 20. Scans run weekly, not daily, and there is no import of history from other tools. It is a new product without a long track record.
Tools that changed
- Places Scout is now part of Yext. Yext announced it acquired Places Scout on 10 February 2025 (Yext acquires Places Scout). placesscout.com now redirects to yext.com, and the last archived Places Scout site asked for a quote instead of listing prices.
- Local Viking pricing now lives at Local Optics. localviking.com/pricing redirects to app.localoptics.com/pricing. See the Local Viking page for its plans.
- GMB Everywhere is a single-point checker. Its Teleport feature checks rank from one pin you drop, with 5 free views a month and a Power User plan at $30 a month (GMB Everywhere pricing). It has no multi-point grid or schedule.
We also checked Search Atlas, an SEO suite with heatmaps and white-label from $399, and GeoRanker, an SEO suite with white-label on its $249 Agency plan. Neither publishes grid sizes on the pages we read.
How to test a tracker against your phone
- Pick one pin from a scan and note its coordinates.
- Go to that spot, or ask someone who is there, and search the same keyword in the Google Maps app.
- Compare the top 3 with what the tracker shows for that pin. Gridrank shows the top 3 for every pin when you click it.
- Repeat at two or three pins in different directions. A pin a few hundred metres off can show a different list, so test more than one.
New to grids? Read how geo-grid rank tracking works or why rankings change by location.